Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Rant Fest of 10'

Rant #1- Living at Home- Sometimes I think I have to be the most impatient person on earth. I've tried to just let it go...honest...but I think everything nowadays is fueled by my insanely strong desire to be out of my parent's house. I am just sick of the confrontations and constant nagging.....I just really cant stand it. Just move out you say? If only it were that easy!! All of my misery could simply be ended if someone would just hire me. My relationship with my parents has always been good...until living under the same roof as them post graduation. I am already working 2 jobs and the kicker is...they want me to get a 3rd one.....like to know what days and times I'd actually be able to pull that off!

Rant #2- Big Ben- I can't believe how people still defend this guy. Terry Bradshaw had the best bash of Ben ever....and people were so offended and deemed him unprofessional. Ben doesn't deserve to play at all this season..but Pittsburgh fans care too much about winning than a players' class. His ego is through the roof and I have yet to hear of a good story involving Ben. He is banned from several Pittsburgh restaurants and has treated people terribly whereever he goes!! He rapes two girls and gets away with it because the evidence magically disappears. If a random guy who wasn't a football player did the same thing...you better believe he would be in the slammer. Not fair.

Rant #3- Schools that don't hire their subs or even interview them- I 've been subbinga lot lately and there's way more to come...but Ie ven wonder if it's going to do me anygood...as rumor has it...schools around here don't hire their subs...that just doenst even make sense! Wouldn't you want someone who you KNOW is good? Just saying...

Rant #4-Construction- Every single road I have driven on today has been under construction and has delayed my time considerably. It's freakishly annoying when they decide to work on all roads at the same time. Got to love Penndot!!

Rant #5- Stupid reporter chick involved with Jets locker room scandal- This girl is an idiot......First...she's a female in a locker room full of 53 males...of course they are going to stare and make whistles at her!! That's how it would be for any girl in a room with all guys...her outfit didn't help her situation either. Use some common sense and interview Mark Sanchez outside of the locker room and then you won't be eyed like a piece of candy.

Rant #6- Seneca Valley's Anti-Bullying Campaign- Need I say more? Can we say ...WASTE OF TIME and MONEY!!!!

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Debating

So.....I'm a teacher and my uncle is a school Psychologist...and we were talking today and I mentioned to him that this year Harrisburg School District isn't doing summer school. In the past, they would have kids attend summer school instead of holding them back. I thought this was bad because I felt like some of my kids need the summer school, and that it will only get worse for them if they keep getting passed onto the next grade when they aren't ready. My uncle on the other hand, told me that holding them back a year is "detrimental" and that they usually don't do better anyhow. I disagree...I have kids in my class right now who are in 3rd grade and can barely read....they should have been held back in either first or second grade to master their reading skills a bit better. The PSSAs are going to be awful...because not only don't they care, but the skills are quite alarming. I can understand how that if you held back a student when they were in 5th-6th grade not really making a difference, but I think if you hold them back in the earlier grades, the kids don't notice or comment so much and it can really help. I just can't imagine possibly passing students on who aren't ready and can't handle it. I also don't think it's fair how if a student has an IEP..they pretty much can get away with anything. By law they are not allowed to suspended or expelled, no matter what they do. Not fair at all. Parents play the IEP card as well...I called a parent to tell them I gave their child detention for fighting in my classroom. Her response was, "Do you know he has an IEP?" Who cares what he has..the fact of the matter is..he isn't allowed to punch the crap outta kids!! Another example that frustrates me beyond all reason is that a 3rd grade boy next door to me has tried choking two different students...and both times have just received one day of detention. He hasn't learned a thing!!! What's the world coming too?!

Friday, January 8, 2010

2010

So it is only January 8th..meaning it's only been 2010 for 8 days, but already my prediction that 2010 would finallly be my year has been looking pretty good. Jan 2nd I moved out to Enola, trying to sub out here to get a job..within 3 days of being here, I scored an interview for a long term sub position in Harrisburg, and actually got the job!! I am way excited..and nervous..but I love 3rd grade, and hopefully this is just the beginning to me landing my own classroom for the Fall. Other things in my life have been going really well too..I literally for once have no complaints and all worries are momentarily subsided. The only complaint that I do have is I haven't been called to sub once since Ive been out here..but have been called a milion times for home...However...I'm looking at this as a positive because starting January 25th...I will be quite busy for several months! That will be so nice!! Anyhow....2010 has great things in store..I have no doubts!